Introducing AMPP’s 2024 Whitney Award Winner

Dr. Sanna Virtanen, Professor for Surface Science and Corrosion in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Germany’s Friedrich-Alexander University (FAU) Erlangen-Nürnberg, is the 2024 recipient of AMPP’s prestigious Willis Whitney Technical Achievement Award.

In this roundtable conversation also featuring Raul Rebak of GE Global Research and Dr. John Scully of the University of Virginia, Dr. Virtanen shares highlights from her distinguished career and lessons learned for the next generation, along with insight on what the Whitney Award means to her career.

Rebak and Dr. Scully — who currently serve as AMPP’s Program Committee Chair and Task Force Chair, respectively — add perspective on the AMPP Awards process and the ways in which winners will be honored and celebrated at the 2024 AMPP Annual Conference + Expo in March.

Source: AMPP Awards, www.ampp.org/membership/member-resources/awards