BASF Announces Changes to Executive Board

Dr. Melanie Maas-Brunner (pictured) has been appointed as a member of the BASF Board of Executive Directors, as well as Chief Technology Officer, effective February 1. Photo courtesy of BASF.

The Supervisory Board of BASF (Ludwigshafen, Germany) has appointed Dr. Melanie Maas-Brunner as a member of the Boar of Executive Directors effective February 1. In addition, Maas-Brunner will assume the position of Chief Technology Officer from current Board Chairman Dr. Martin Brudermüller.

Maas-Brunner has been with BASF since 1997 and has headed BASF’s Nutrition & Health division since 2017. In her new role, she will assume responsibility for the three research divisions—Advanced Materials & Systems Research, Bioscience Research, and Process Research & Chemical Engineering—as well as BASF New Business at that time. She will also take over the tasks in the divisions European Site & Verbund Management, Global Engineering Services, and Corporate Environmental Protection, Health & Safety, as well as the role of the Industrial Relations Director starting on May 31.

“With Melanie Maas-Brunner, we have appointed a very experienced chemist and strong leader to the Board,” says Dr. Kurt Bock, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BASF SE. “During her career at BASF to date, she has successfully set up business areas for the future – with global responsibility as well as in the Asia region.”

In other changes to the Board, Wayne T. Smith is leaving his role as of May 31. Smith has been with BASF for 16 years and has served on the Board since 2012. He will be succeeded by Michael Heinz, who will take over Smith’s responsibilities in North America after a transition period on June 1, 2021, as well as retain his responsibilities for South America.

Following these changes, the Board of Executive Directors has decided to redistribute its responsibilities effective June 1, 2021. To keep updated on the latest changes within the company, visit

Source: BASF,